常见问题

常见问题

Q. 什么是不孕不育?

不孕不育是指有正常性生活且未避孕达1年以上却未能怀孕者。它影响了大约12%的伴侣,即大约700万美国伴侣。美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)的统计数据显示,生育能力受损、无法怀孕影响了670万美国女性 — 大约占美国育龄女性的11%。CDC的统计数据还指出,所有有性经验且低于45岁的男性中有7.5%曾看过不孕不育医生 — 这相当于330万至470万男性。在这些寻求医疗帮助的男性中,18%被诊断患有男性不孕不育问题,包括精子或精液问题(14%)以及精索静脉曲张(6%)。

患有诸如月经周期紊乱或绝经等问题的女性,以及超过35岁的女性应当尽早寻求专家的帮助。大约40%的不孕不育是由男方导致的,50%是由女方导致的,还有10%原因难解。好消息是在CHA不孕不育中心,大部分患者通过适当的医疗管理都能成功地成为父母。

常见问题
Q. 导致男性不孕不育的原因有哪些?

男性精子数会被很多因素影响。生活方式,包括过量使用尼古丁/香烟、酒精和大麻对精液参数都有极大的影响。某些医疗状况,如糖尿病和药物使用也都可能影响精子生成。由先天、手术结果(疝修补术)、激素失调、基因状况(囊性纤维化)、感染(流行性腮腺炎)、睾丸损伤或创伤导致的先天缺陷或结构异常都是已知的影响精子生成的症结。前列腺或尿道手术、糖尿病、高血压、使用药物或阳痿等很多因素导致无法正常射精也会造成不孕不育。需要注意的是,在很多男性不孕不育病例中,都无法查出病因。好消息是我们成功治愈了大部分男性不孕不育病例。

常见问题
Q. 哪些因素会增加男性不孕不育风险?

男性整体健康状况及生活方式会影响他的精子数量及质量。可能影响精子数量及质量的因素包括:

  • 年龄
  • 使用烟草(抽烟)
  • 饮酒
  • 吸毒
  • 环境污染,包括农药及铅中毒
  • 医疗状况
  • 服用药物
  • 治疗癌症使用的放疗及化疗
常见问题
Q. 导致女性不孕不育的原因有哪些?

导致女性不孕不育的原因通常包括排卵异常、输卵管阻塞或疾病、以及卵巢功能衰竭或卵巢储备功能下降。子宫内膜粘连及子宫肌瘤等子宫问题偶尔也会导致不孕不育。压力过大、极度节食或运动训练等生活习惯因素会影响女性的激素分泌从而导致不孕不育。

某些医疗状况,如甲状腺异常和脑下垂体肿瘤等,也会影响生育系统进而导致不孕不育。包括子宫内膜异位(在其他盆腔脏器中异常地出现子宫内膜细胞)和盆腔粘连在内的其他因素也被认为与不孕不育有关。

常见问题
Q. 哪些因素会增加女性不孕不育风险?

很多情况都会影响女性生育能力。包括:

  • 年龄 — 这是目前导致女性不孕不育最重要的因素
  • 使用烟草(抽烟)
  • 饮酒
  • 压力过大
  • 不良饮食
  • 运动训练
  • 体重过重或过轻
  • 性传播疾病(STDs)
  • 健康问题导致激素变化
常见问题
Q. 年龄增长如何降低女性怀孕几率?

年龄增长通过以下方式影响女性怀孕能力:

  • 女性卵巢释放待受精的卵子的能力随年龄增长而下降。
  • 女性卵子的数量及质量随年龄增长而下降。
  • 随着女性年龄增长,她更可能产生影响生育能力的健康问题。
  • 随着女性年龄增长,流产的风险上升。

幸运的是,CHA不孕不育中心能够通过先进的辅助生殖技术和周到的治疗方式帮助面临这些风险的患者。

常见问题
Q. 如何检测不孕不育?

治疗不孕不育的第一步就是对男方和女方都进行全面彻底的生育检测。

在CHA不孕不育中心,我们一般询问的第一个问题是女性是否每个月都规律地排卵。这个问题可以通过以下方式得到答案:使用FDA批准的家用排卵检测工具(可在药房非处方购买)记录早上的体温变化,验血测试激素水平,或卵巢超声检查。CHA不孕不育中心进行下列检测及其他常规检测来评估女性不孕不育:

  • 激素检测:这包括检查卵巢储备功能、甲状腺功能以及催乳素水平。
  • 子宫输卵管造影:在向子宫腔和输卵管注入染剂后使用X光检查子宫腔和输卵管内部形状。
  • 腹腔镜检查:使用带光源的微型导管(也称为腹腔镜)检查输卵管和其他女性器官是否存在疾病。腹腔镜检查通常需要全身麻醉,腹腔镜需穿过肚脐下方的微小切口伸入腹腔内部。
  • 宫腔镜检查:将带光源的微型探头置入子宫内观察是否存在影响生育能力的息肉、子宫内膜粘连或子宫肌瘤。

男性不孕不育检查主要包括精液分析(男科医学精子学)。

常见问题
Q. 如何治疗不孕不育?

在CHA不孕不育中心,我们理解根据咨询时获得的信息和诊断检查结果,每对伴侣的不孕不育治疗都不相同。常见的治疗方法包括在女性生理周期前五天口服克罗米芬(Clomid)进行诱导排卵。在合适的情况下,诱导排卵也可以通过小剂量注射促性腺激素进行。基于精液参数,我们也可能推荐进行子宫内受精(IUI)。

如果由于女方及/或男方原因无法进行诱导排卵和IUI,或已经进行诱导排卵和IUI但无效,接下来可选的治疗方式为体外人工授精(IVF)。IVF具有最高的治疗成功率,并且每一个IVF治疗方案都是根据患者的特殊需求而量身定制的。我们会对适合手术矫正的问题进行手术治疗。但我们只有当手术具有很高的恢复生育能力的几率时,才会推荐女性进行卵巢、输卵管或子宫手术。

常见问题
Q. 什么是体外人工授精(IVF)?

体外人工授精(IVF)也被称为“试管婴儿”。自1981年发明至今,体外人工授精是最常使用的辅助生殖技术。IVF程序会使用药物刺激卵巢产生多个成熟卵母细胞(卵子),当含有这些卵母细胞的卵泡达到一定大小后,我们会使用一根极细的针从女性体内取出卵子,评估这些卵子的成熟度和质量,并在胚胎实验室使用伴侣的精子使其受精。如此形成的胚胎将会发育3至5天,再被移植回女性的子宫。大约10天后会进行验孕。

常见问题
Q. 体外人工授精费用昂贵么?

美国生殖医学协会的统计数据显示,在美国一个IVF治疗周期的平均花费是$12,400美金。IVF需要由经过严格培训的专业人员操作,并需要使用精密的实验室及器材。IVF开支仅占美国医疗总开支的0.03%。在CHA不孕不育中心,我们根据患者个人的情况提供多种具有市场竞争力且灵活的支付选择。请看我们的价格及融资选择了解更多信息。

常见问题
Q. 体外人工授精有效么?

是的。使用辅助生殖技术的病例中,超过99%都使用了体外人工授精技术,剩余不到1%采取了GIFT、ZIFT和两者结合的治疗方式。美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)的统计数据显示,2012年使用辅助生殖技术的患者每个取卵周期内的活产率为29%,远高于任何一个月内仅有20%生育功能健全的伴侣能够成功怀孕并分娩。2012年在美国出生的婴儿中,有超过1.5%的婴儿是IVF的产物 ,即有超过59,000个试管婴儿诞生,而且这个数字还有增长的趋势。CHA不孕不育中心自豪地引领着辅助生殖技术的进步,以持续增加成功率。

常见问题

预约咨询

请拨打+1.323.525.3377或点击此处联系我们预约咨询或了解更多信息。

患者评价

 让我们CHA生育通讯

点击订阅

  • 隐私权声明:欢迎来到CHA不孕不育中心。我们感激您对我们服务的兴趣。我们尊重并致力于保护您的隐私。当您访问和浏览我们的网站,以及通过电子邮件与我们交流时,我们不会收集您的个人信息,除非您自愿向我们提供这些信息。CHA不孕不育中心不会销售、许可、传播或披露这些信息,也不会将您的个人信息出售或租赁给任何除CHA不孕不育中心/CHA医疗集团及组织以外的第三方。
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

搜索

FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is infertility?

Infertility is when a couple is unable to conceive after one year of unprotected intercourse. It affects approximately 12% of couples, that’s about 7 million American couples. Impaired fecundity, the inability to have a child, affects 6.7 million women in the U.S.—about 11% of the reproductive age population, according to the CDC. They also report that 7.5% of all sexually experienced men younger than age 45 saw a fertility doctor during their lifetime—this equals 3.3–4.7 million men. Of men who sought help, 18% were diagnosed with a male-related infertility problem, including sperm or semen problems (14%) and varicocele (6%).

Women with certain symptoms such as irregular menses or no menses, and women who are 35 years of age or older should also seek care from a specialist sooner. Approximately 40% of infertility cases is attributed to the male partner, 50% to the female partner, and in 10% of cases the cause is unknown. The good news is that at CHA Fertility Center, most will succeed in achieving parenthood with the appropriate medical management.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What causes infertility in men?

A man’s sperm count can be influenced by numerous factors. Lifestyle, including the excessive use of nicotine/cigarettes, alcohol and marijuana could have a strong impact on semen parameters. Certain medical conditions, such as diabetes, and medications could also impact sperm production. Congenital or anatomic abnormalities either from birth or as a result of surgery (hernia repair), hormonal imbalances, genetic conditions (cystic fibrosis), infections (mumps), testicular damage or trauma have all been known to impact sperm production. Inability to ejaculate normally can also prevent conception and can be caused by many factors including surgery of the prostate gland or urethra, diabetes, high blood pressure, medication or impotence. It should be noted that the cause of many cases of male factor infertility are unknown. The good news is that we are able to achieve successful outcomes in most male factor couples.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What factors increase a man's risk of infertility?

The number and quality of a man’s sperm can be affected by his overall health and lifestyle. Factors that may affect sperm count and quality include:

  • Age
  • Tobacco use (smoking, cigarettes)
  • Alcohol
  • Drugs
  • Environmental toxins, including pesticides & lead
  • Medical conditions
  • Medications
  • Radiation treatment & chemotherapy for cancer
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What causes infertility in women?

Common causes of infertility in women include abnormalities in ovulation, blockage or disease of the fallopian tubes, and ovarian failure or diminished ovarian reserve. Uterine conditions, such as uterine adhesions and fibroids are conditions that rarely cause infertility. Lifestyle factors such as stress, extreme dieting or athletic training can affect a woman’s hormonal axis and hence result in infertility.

Certain medical conditions, such as thyroid gland abnormalities and pituitary gland tumors can also impact the reproductive system and hence resulting in infertility. Other conditions including endometriosis (the abnormal presence of uterine lining cells in other pelvic organs) and pelvic adhesions have been associated with infertility.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What factors increase a woman's risk of infertility?

Many things can affect a woman’s ability to have a baby. These include:

  • Age – this is by far the biggest factor in female infertility
  • Tobacco use (smoking, cigarettes)
  • Alcohol
  • Stress
  • Poor diet
  • Athletic training
  • Being overweight or underweight
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs)
  • Health problems that cause hormonal changes
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How does aging decrease a woman's chance of having a baby?

Aging affects a woman’s ability of achieving pregnancy in the following ways:

  • The ability of a woman’s ovaries to release eggs ready for fertilization declines with age.
  • The quantity and quality of a woman’s eggs decline with age.
  • As a woman ages she is more likely to have health problems that can interfere with fertility.
  • As a women ages, her risk of having a miscarriage increases.

Fortunately, advances in assisted reproductive technology and the thoughtful treatment approaches at CHA Fertility Center helps those who are facing these risks.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How is infertility tested?

The first step in seeking treatments for infertility is to go through thorough infertility testing for both the man and the woman.

Generally, the first question we at CHA Fertility Center is whether the woman is regularly ovulating each month. This can be done by charting changes in morning body temperature using an FDA-approved home ovulation test kit (available over the counter), by a blood test for hormone levels, or by an ultrasound of the ovaries. At CHA Fertility Center, we prescribe these and other common tests to evaluate female infertility including:

  • Hormonal Testing: This may include assessment of ovarian reserve, thyroid function and prolactin levels.
  • Hysterosalpingogram: This procedure involves an X-ray to investigate the shape of the uterine cavity and the fallopian tubes after they are injected with dye.
  • Laparoscopy: A miniature light-transmitting tube, also known as laparoscope, exams the tubes and other female organs for disease. Usually under general anesthesia, the tube is inserted into the abdomen through a small incision below the navel.
  • Hysteroscopy: A miniature light-transmitting camera is inserted into the uterine cavity to evaluate for the presence of polyps, adhesions or fibroids, which can interfere with fertility.

Male infertility testing primarily includes semen analysis (sperm andrology).

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How is infertility treated?

At CHA Fertility Center, we understand that treatment of infertility varies for all couples depending on the information gathered from the consultation and the diagnostic testing. Common treatments include ovulation induction, which could be done with Clomid, a medication taken orally for five days in the beginning of a woman’s cycle. If appropriate, ovulation induction could also be done with gonadotropins, which are hormonal medications delivered through small injection shots. An intrauterine insemination (IUI) may also be recommended depending on the semen parameters.

If ovulation induction and IUI is not an option due to female and/or male factors or has previously not been effective, the next option for treatment would be in vitro fertilization (IVF). IVF offers the highest percentage of success rate and every protocol is customized to address the specific needs of the patient. Conditions that are amenable to surgical correction are approached through surgery. Surgeries involving a woman’s ovaries, fallopian tubes, or uterus are recommended only if there is a good chance of restoring fertility.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What is in vitro fertilization (IVF)?

In vitro fertilization (IVF) is what is known as a “test tube baby.” Introduced in the Unites States in 1981, in vitro fertilization is the most common assisted reproductive technology procedure where medications are given to stimulate the ovaries to produce multiple mature oocytes (eggs). Once the follicles containing these oocytes are at a certain size, the eggs are removed from a woman’s body using a small needle. The eggs are then assessed for maturity and quality and then fertilized with the partner’s sperm in the embryology lab. The resulting embryos are grown for 3 to 5 days and then returned back to the woman’s uterus. A pregnancy test is performed approximately 10 days later.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Is in vitro fertilization expensive?

According to the ASRM, the average cost of an IVF cycle in the United States is $12,400. IVF involves highly trained professionals with sophisticated laboratories and equipment. IVF only accounts for 0.03% of U.S. healthcare costs. At Cha Fertility Center, we offer various competitive and flexible payment options to address our patient’s individual situations. See our Pricing and Financial Options for more details.

Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Does in vitro fertilization work?

Yes. In vitro fertilization currently accounts for more than 99% of ART procedures with GIFT, ZIFT and combination procedures making up the remainder. According to the CDC, the live birth rate for assisted reproductive technologies per retrieval cycle in 2012 was 29%, significantly better than the 20% chance in any given month that a reproductively healthy couple has achieving a pregnancy and carrying it to term. In 2012, more than 1.5% of all babies born in the U.S. were a result of IVF—that’s over 59,000 IVF babies—and this trend is only growing. We at CHA Fertility Center are proud to be at the forefront of assisted reproductive technology advances to continue to increase these success rates.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Schedule a consultation

Call us today at 323.525.3377 or send us a message here to schedule a consultation or learn more.

Testimonials

Schedule your first
consultation today

 Get our CHA Fertility Newsletter

Mailing List Signup

  • Privacy Statement We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting it. CHA Fertility Center will not sell, license, transmit or disclose this information nor sell or rent your personal information to any third party outside of CHA Fertility Center/CHA Health Systems companies and associates.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.